A professional who is rarely called a penalty – for standing on the green grass

Mingyu Zhou hit a ball Sunday during the final round of the GS Caltex Maekyung Open Asian Tour.

Getty Images

“Chou’s Chances,” the story on the Asian Tour website said, “was shot afterwards.”

Two things are true here. The Asian Tour website gets to the point. And Mingyu Zhou’s chances, through a penalty kick rarely called, were a shot, yes.

The sequence in question came about during the final round of the GS Caltex Maekyung Open on Sunday. There, according to the Asian Tour story, Cho played his third shot in the ninth at Namseoul Country Club in Korea while standing on the second green in the hole. (The second vegetable is more prevalent in Asia.)

Since you know the “cut shot” part, you can probably guess that this wasn’t very good. And you’re right. Here’s why. According to Rule 13.1f, “The relief must be taken from the wrong green.” Here is her full description:

The player gets a judgment from an official

What is the ruling if you end up putting the green ball wrong?

by:

Milton’s exhale



“Interference under this rule occurs when your ball is on the wrong green or when the wrong green actually overlaps your intended area or intended swing area. When there is interference from the wrong green, the ball must not be played as is. Instead, it must You feel comfortable by dropping the original ball or another ball into the relief area as shown in Diagram 13.1f There is no relief under this rule if the interference is present only because you have chosen a club, stance, swing, or direction of play that is obviously not reasonable under the circumstances.”

By not taking the plunge, Cho was hit with a penalty and, unfortunately for him, finished two strokes behind eventual winner Pyo Kim. Notably, prior to 2019, the wrong green interference was only called when the ball itself was on the wrong green.

Was the penalty calculated before in the ranks of professionals? In a brief GOLF.com search on Monday, the last known example appears to have occurred during the second round of Barclays 2017, when Seung-Yul Noh played a shot on hole 11—from the third green. (There is a video of the sequence below.)

According to a story on the PGA Tour website, Noh said he or his holder knew of the potential infraction.

“I’ve been here for 33 years,” said Slugger White, vice president of rules and competition for the tour at the time. “We’ve never seen that happen before.”

golf magazine

Subscribe to the magazine

Participate

Nick Piastovsky

Nick Piastovsky

Golf.com Editor

Nick Piastovsky is a senior editor at Golf.com and Golf Magazine. In his role, he is responsible for editing, writing and developing stories across the golf space. And when he’s not writing about ways to hit the golf ball farther and straighter, the Milwaukee native will probably play the game, hitting the ball left, right and short, drinking a cold beer to wash down his score. You can reach him on any of these topics – his stories, his game, or his beer – at nick.piastowski@golf.com.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: