Monty Williams of the Phoenix Suns wins Coach of the Year 2021-22

Monty Williams becomes the third coach in Suns history to be named Coach of the Year.

New York – Monty Williams, head coach of the Phoenix Suns, has announced that he has been awarded the Red Auerbach Award as the NBA Coach of the Year for 2021-22. This is the first NBA Coach of the Year award for Williams, who joins Cotton Fitzsimmons (1988-89) and Mike D’Antoni (2004-05) as head coaches to earn the Suns honor.

Williams received 458 points (81 first-place votes) from a global panel of 100 sports writers and broadcasters. Taylor Jenkins, head coach of the Memphis Grizzlies, finished second with 270 points (17 votes in first). Miami Heat coach Eric Spoelstra finished third with 72 points (one vote for first). Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

Williams led the Suns to a 64-18 NBA-leading record in a regular season, the most wins and highest win percentage (.780) in a single season in franchise history. The Phoenix 32-9 had identical records at home and on the road. The Suns tied for the third-most on-road win percentage and fifth-best on-road win percentage (.780) in a single season in NBA history.

Phoenix won a franchise record – 18 games in a row from October 30 – December 2, 2021. The streak included a 16-0 record in November, tying for the second-most win in a month without a loss in NBA history, trailing only the Atlanta Hawks’ 17-0 record in January 2015.

The Suns ranked first in the NBA in net rating (+7.5), third in defensive rating (106.8) and fifth in offensive rating (114.2), making them the only team to have ranked in the top five in all three categories. They were 47-0 when they were up after the third quarter, the largest such win without a loss in a season in the shot clock era (which began in the 1954-55 season).

Williams was named the NBA Western Conference Coach of the Year twice (October/November and January). He and his staff also secured a place to coach LeBron in the 2022 NBA All-Star Game.

This is Williams’ third season as Suns coach. Last season, he led Phoenix to a record 51-21 and his first NBA Finals appearance since the 1992-93 season, and finished second in the vote for the 2020-21 NBA Coach of the Year award. Williams previously served as head coach for the New Orleans Hornets/Plicians for five seasons.

Williams will receive a special edition of the 75th Anniversary Memorial Trophy today in celebration of his 2021-22 NBA Coach of the Year award, as well as the Auerbach Red Cup, which he will receive later. Made of a solid crystal basketball, the commemorative trophy features a laser-engraved 3D NBA 75 logo hanging at its center.

The NBA Coach of the Year award is named in honor of the Naismith Memorial Football Hall of Famer Red Auerbach. The legendary coach led the Boston Celtics to nine NBA championships, including eight in a row from 1958-59 – 1965-66.

Below are the voting results for the 2021-22 NBA Coach of the Year award. The poll was scheduled by the independent accounting firm Ernst & Young LLP. The full ballot papers for each voter will be posted on after all end-of-season awards have been announced.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: