Ime Udoka and Marcus Smart rate well but didn’t win the 2022 hardware for Celtics season at new USA TODAY panel show

The Boston Celtics saw two members of the organization finish off with relatively strong showings in two end-of-season awards races in a fresh take on the NBA Awards for the 2021-22 season put together by author Brian Kalbrowsky of our sister site For The Win.

While neither would end up taking the trophy in their respective award categories, coach Aimee Odoka and veteran point guard Marcus Smart were much appreciated 2022 Coach of the Year (COTY) and Defensive Player of the Year (DPOY). By a panel of USA TODAY analysts tested by Kalbrosky. The FTW author modeled his projection on the actual grant process as best he could and came up with some surprising results.

Let’s take a look at where Udoka and Smart ended up.

Marcus Smart – Defensive Player of the Year (2nd overall)

January 23, 2022; Washington, District of Columbia, USA; Boston Celtics guard Marcus Smart (36) looks on the field during the first half against the Washington Wizards at Capital One Arena. Mandatory credit: Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

“Although he doesn’t have as much of a lead as he did last time we spoke, and Boston’s Marcus Smart is quite on his tail, Utah’s Huge Rudy Gobert is still our favorite to win Defensive Player of the Year,” he said. Kalbrowsky writes.

“With this year’s win, Joubert will join Dikembe Mutombo and Ben Wallace as the players with the most DPOY awards to their name. Utah’s defense isn’t as dominant as Boston or Miami’s. But Joubert is still an underworld defender who ranks as the best defensive player in the league by all accounts. advanced approx.

Hopefully, at least for Celtics fans, the vote for the award doesn’t line up with the committee’s vote.

Im Odoka – Coach of the Year (4th overall)

March 11, 2022; Boston, Massachusetts, USA; Boston Celtics coach A.M. Odoka during the first half against the Detroit Pistons at TD Garden. Mandatory credit: Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

“While others have campaigned impressively as well, there is not much room for debate as to why we would vote Phoenix’s Monty Williams as our Coach of the Year,” said the FTW analyst.

Williams succeeded coach Taylor Jenkins of the Memphis Grizzlies, then JB Bikerstaff of the Cleveland Cavaliers before Odoka.

This post originally appeared on Celtics Wire. Follow us on Facebook!

[pickup_prop id=”16267″>

[mm-video type=video id=01g0fzqdztcnxd37zhrx playlist_id=01eqbzegwgnrje4tv2 player_id=01eqbvq570kgj8vfs7 image=]

[lawrence-related id=101140,101136,101134,100883]

[listicle id=101125]

[vertical-gallery id=100997]

[listicle id=101073]



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: