2022 NHL Awards: The Nominees, Winners & How to Watch

This year’s NHL Awards, the first live broadcast since 2019, is a mini-issue, once again hosted by Kenan Thompson. Everyone loves Keenan – he’s an accomplished host and comedian – and the 2019 awards were a tighter, more professional relationship than the usual awards show we’ve been dealing with.

How to watch the 2022 NHL Awards

Tonight’s awards were distributed between games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Final. The duration of the show is only one hour, and a large part of the awards have already been announced. The broadcast will be broadcast tonight at 6 PM Central on ESPN, ESPN+, or Fubo.tv.

Tonight’s candidates

Prize winners that have yet to be announced (more on that in a moment) will be given out live tonight. The Hart Trophy, Vezina Trophy, Norris Trophy, Calder Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Prize are all within easy reach. Each award will be presented by a member of the NHL Community, separate from random celebrities in the past. We will miss Jon Hamm.

hart cup

Most Valuable Player, as voted by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Finalists: Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs; Conor MacDavid, Edmonton Oilers; Igor Shesterkin, New York Rangers

venezina cup

Best goalkeeper, as voted by the NHL general managers.

Finalists: Jacob Markstrom, Calgary Flames; Jose Sarros, Nashville Predators; Igor Shesterkin, New York Rangers

Norris Cup

Top Defense, as voted by PHWA.

Finalists: Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning; Roman Jose, Nashville Predators; Cal Makar, Colorado Avalanche

Calder Cup

Newbie of the Year, also voted by PHWA.

Finalists: Michael Banting, Toronto Maple Leafs; Trevor Zegras, Anaheim Dax; Moritz Cedar, Detroit Red Wings

Ted Lindsay Award

Most Outstanding Player, as voted by the NHL Players Association.

Finalists: Roman Jose, Nashville Predators; Austin Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs; Conor MacDavid, Edmonton Oilers

The three finalists for this year’s General Manager will also be announced tonight, but the award will not be delivered until the second round of the 2022 NHL Draft on July 7. This supposedly gives the winner some extra bragging rights because every GM in the league will be out there watching.


Unfortunately, to prevent the broadcast from turning into its usual three-hour slalom affair, the NHL had to announce early the winners of nine more awards. Tonight’s winners will be shown in a special category.

Art Ross Cup: Most points in the regular season

Winner: Conor MacDavid, Edmonton Oilers

Rocket Richard Trophy: Most goals in a regular season

Winner: Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs

Wire Cup: Best Defensive Striker, voted by PHWA

Winner: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

Masterton Cup: Player of the Year who embodies perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey, as voted by PHWA

Winner: Carrie Price, Montreal Canadiens

Lady Byng Cup: The player who has demonstrated the best in sportsmanship and gentle play, as voted by PHWA

Winner: Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets

William M Jennings Cup: The goalkeeper who has played at least 25 games, and whose team has allowed the fewest goals

Winner: Frederic Andersen and Antti Ranta, Carolina Hurricanes

King Clancy Memorial Cup: The player who best represents leadership on and off the ice, and makes a noteworthy humanitarian contribution to his community

Winner: BK Suban, New Jersey Devils

Jack Adams Award: Coach of the Year, as voted by the NHL Broadcasters Association

Winner: Daryl Sutter, Calgary Flames

Marc Messier NHL Leadership Award: A player who exemplifies great leadership qualities for his team on and off the ice, based on input from fans, clubs and NHL staff, to be decided by Messier

Winners: Anzi Kopetar, Los Angeles Kings

Willie O’Ree Community Award: An individual who uses hockey as a platform to teach teamwork, humility, respect, and build inclusive communities.

Winner: Noel Acton of Baltimore

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: