Kenan Thompson to host the NHL Awards on June 21

New York / Toronto – The National Hockey League announced today that Emmy-winning actor Kenan Thompson will return as the host of the 2022 NHL™ Awards on Tuesday, June 21. A televised celebration of the league’s best performing regular season will be broadcast live from Tampa in the 2022 Stanley Cup Final on ESPN, Sportsnet and TVA Sports in the US and Canada, at 7 PM EST / 4 PM PT.

Thompson recently completed his record nineteenth season on NBC’s “Saturday Night Live” as the longest-running cast member on the show. The actor, producer and comedian made his television debut as a member of Nickelodeon’s children’s comedy series, “All That”, before starring in the popular show “Kenan and Kel”. Thompson is familiar to hockey fans for his roles in “D2: The Mighty Ducks” and “D3: The Mighty Ducks”. Most recently, he produced and executive produced the NBC sitcom “Kenan”. The actor hosted the 2019 NHL Awards, the last live edition of the event.

“Whether it’s the regular season or the Stanley Cup playoffs, the National Hockey League definitely knows how to put on a show and I’m honored to be a part of it again,” Thompson said. “The playoffs have been so exciting and I can’t wait to wrap up this amazing season as host of the 2022 NHL Awards.”

“After a two-year hiatus, we are excited to welcome the return of the NHL Awards Show with Keenan as host,” said NHL Chief Content Officer and Executive Vice President, Steve Meyer. “Kenan did a fantastic job in 2019 and is the perfect host to lead a fun and festive celebration of the best of the season.”

The 2022 NHL Awards will reveal the winners of six awards – Most Valuable Player (Hart Trophy), Outstanding Goalkeeper (Vezina Cup), Outstanding Defender (Norris Cup), Outstanding Rookie (Calder Cup), and Outstanding Ted Lindsey Award, which is presented annually to” “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL as voted by fellow National Hockey League Players Association (NHLPA) members, and the NHLPA’s annual EJ McGuire Excellence Award for a nominee best exemplifies a commitment to excellence through strength of character, competitiveness and athleticism.

Noel Acton, recipient of the MassMutual Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award, will be honored at the live show. The finalists for the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award will be announced on broadcast.

The NHL has revealed the winners of seven 2022 NHL Awards, including:
● Marc Messier NHL Leadership Award – Anzi CopetarLos Angeles Kings
● Jack Adams Award – Daryl Sutter, Calgary Flames
● Bill Masterton Memorial Cup – Carry priceMontreal Canadiens
● Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award presented by MassMutual – Noel Acton of Baltimore, Maryland.
● Frank J. Silk Cup – Patrice BergeronBoston Bruins
● Lady Bing Memorial Cup – Kyle ConnorWinnipeg Jets
● King Clancy’s Memorial Cup – BK SubanNew Jersey Devils

NHL Network™, and NHL Social™ will provide comprehensive coverage of the 2022 NHL™ Awards. Fans can follow the celebrations across the NHL’s social media channels with the official hashtag #NHLAwards.

{ if (f.fbq) return; n = f.fbq = function() { n.callMethod ?

n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments) };

if (!f._fbq) f._fbq = n; n.push = n; n.loaded = !0; n.version = '2.0';

n.queue = []; t = b.createElement(e); t.async = !0;

t.src = v; s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s) }(window, document, 'script',


fbq('init', '1921075634812764');

fbq('track', 'PageView');

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: