Moritz Ceder wins NHL Rookie of the Year award – Macomb Daily

Tampa, Florida – Red Wings defender Moritz Ceder was awarded the Calder Rookie of the Year award on Tuesday night.

Toronto’s Austin Matthews won the Hart Award as the NHL Player of the Year, becoming only the third Maple Leaf to win the award and the first since Ted Kennedy in 1954-55.

The 24-year-old forward received 119 first-place votes by the Professional Hockey Writers Association and ended up ahead of Edmonton’s Conor McDavid and Igor Chesterkin of the New York Rangers for the honor presented during the NHL Awards Show.

“I can’t lie, it feels really good. It’s very special,” Matthews said, though he admitted there were some bitter feelings about accepting the award in Tampa, where two-time defending champions Lightning and the Colorado Avalanche will meet in Game Four of the Stanley Cup Final on Sunday. Wednesday.

“There is some anxiety, I wish you were still playing,” Matthews said.

Shesterkin was awarded the Vezina Cup as the best goalkeeper in the league. Cal Maker of Colorado was awarded the Norris Cup, presented for the best defender in the league.

Matthews became the first player to score 60 goals since Tampa Bay’s Stephen Stamkos did so 10 years ago, helping the Maple Leafs (54-21-7, 115 points) set records in wins and points. Toronto lost to two-time Stanley Cup champion Lightning in the first round of the playoffs.

The Maple Leafs star, who scored his career best with 46 assists and 106 points, also received the Ted Lindsay Award as the MVP of the regular season, an honor determined by voting by members of the NHL Players Association.

Chesterkin became the third Rangers goalkeeper in the past 40 years to win the Vezina title, joining Henrik Lundqvist (2011-12) and John Vanbisbruck (1985-1986). He went 36-13-4 with a 2.07 goal-against average and 0.935 save percentage before leading a playoff that ended against Tampa Bay in the Eastern Conference final.

Ceder is the first Red Wings player to win the Calder Cup since goalkeeper Roger Crozer during the 1964-1965 season. He led all first-year defenses with 50 points and finished the season ahead of Toronto’s Michael Banting and Anaheim’s Trevor Zegras in the award vote.

Foxy is the fifth defensive man to win Norris during his first three seasons, joining Adam Fox, Eric Carlson, Dennis Botvin and Bobby Orr (twice). He led all defensemen with 28 goals while the avalanche helped finish the Western Conference with a best 119 points (56-19-7).

The 2019-20 Calder Cup winner defeated Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman and Roman Josi in Nashville.

“They’re great players,” Meeker said of the Norris finalists. “They pushed me really hard all season.”

Jacob Markstrom of Calgary and Joss Sarros of Nashville reach the finals of Vezina.

– Fred Goodall, The Associated Press

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: