Leaf’s Golf Series: Who Plays in Portland?

LIV Golf revealed the players for their second event, featuring Brooks Koepka, Bryson DeChambeau, Patrick Reed, Pat Perez and Abraham Anser for the first time at the Rebel Series in Portland.

Once again, 48 players will compete in the non-cut three-round tournament, with a $20 million portfolio on display at Pumpkin Ridge Golf Club.

The event kicks off Thursday, June 30, and will use a shotgun starter over the three days. Along with the individual event, which will see the winner win $4 million, the team event format will continue, with 12 teams of four competing for a $5 million reward fund, split among the top three.

Brooks Koepka is a four-time major champion.

The pitch has changed dramatically from the inaugural LIV Golf event at the Centurion Club in London earlier this month, which saw South Africans Charles Schwarzl, Henny de Plessis and Branden Grace take the podium. Four-time Major and former World No. 1 occupant Kupka, former US Open champion Dechambeau, Masters Red champion, fan favorite Perez and PGA Tour winner Ansar will all play in Portland and have made long-term commitments to the Saudi backer. series. Japan’s Yuki Inamori will also appear for the first time.

RELATED: Koepka Joins LIV in a $150 Million Deal

From the players who played in London Oliver Baker, Ratchannon “TK” Chantananuwa, Oliver Fisher, Pablo Larrazabal, Andy Ogletree, David Puig, JC Ritchie and Kevin Yuan miss the Portland event.

Patrick Reed and Bryson DeChambeau look ready to join LIV Golf.

“Based on our successful launch in London, we have taken another leap forward with our enhanced Portland field,” said Greg Norman, CEO and commissioner of LIV Golf.

“Record champions, global ambassadors and rising stars show that players are eager to participate in our innovative model that emphasizes camaraderie, competition and above all fun, driving a new and exciting product for today’s golf enthusiasts.

“The response after one event has been overwhelming. Free Agency has officially come to golf. I am proud of the field and our entire team that is committed to creating an exciting new future for the sport.”

Related: Everything you need to know about LIV Golf

Abraham Anser

Here’s the full course for the LIV Golf’s Portland event.

Abraham Anser – Mexico
Richard Bland – England
Itthipat Buranatanyarat – Thailand
Laurie Kanter – England
Bryson DeShampoo – USA
Henny De Plessis – South Africa
Sergio Garcia – Spain
Taylor Gotsch – USA
Branden Grace – South Africa
Justin Harding – South Africa
Sam Horsfield – England
Yuki Inamori – Japan
Dustin Johnson – USA
Matt Jones – Australia
Sadom Kaewkanjana – Thailand
Martin Kaymer – Germany
Phacara Khongwatmai – Japan
Sihwan Kim – USA
Ryosyke Kinoshita – Japan
Brooks Koepka – USA
Chase Koepka – USA
Jinichiro Kuzuma – Japan
Graeme McDowell – Northern Ireland
Phil Mickelson – USA
Jedea Morgan – Australia
Kevin Na – USA
Sean Norris – South Africa
Louis Ooosthuizen – South Africa
Ormsby Valley – Australia
Adrian Otaegui – Spain
Pat Perez – USA
Turk Petit – USA
James Peut – United States of America
Ian Poulter – England
Patrick Reed – USA
Charles Schwarzel – South Africa
Travis Smith – Australia
Ian Sneman – South Africa
Hudson Swafford – USA
Hideto Tanihara – Japan
Peter Oehlen – USA
Scott Vincent – Zimbabwe
Lee Westwood – England
Bernd Weisberger – Austria
Blade Wind – Australia
*The final three players will be announced in the coming days

RELATED: PGA Tour Reveals Huge Plans to Counter LIV Threat

Team leaders have also been announced for LIV’s second event with several changes from the opening event.

Louis Oosthuizen leads the Stinger GC, who won the first event, with Bryson DeChambeau jumping the Crushers GC. Lee Westwood captaining the Majesticks GC, with Dustin Johnson at the helm of 4 Aces GC and Martin Kaymer driving the Cleeks GC.

Punch GC captain Wade Ormsby, Graeme McDowell will lead Niblicks GC, and LIV debut Brooks Koepka has been selected for Smash GC.

Phil Mickelson and Dustin Johnson at the LIV Golf Invitational London Draft event.

Phil Mickelson will take charge of Hy Flyers GC, with Sergio Garcia and Kevin Na captaining Fireballs GC and Iron Heads GC respectively.

The leaders will select their teams in the draft on Tuesday (23 June).

RELATED: Full LIV Golf Prize Financial Details

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: