Sevens World Cup ‘a momentous occasion’

Today, exactly 27 years ago, François Pienaar led the Springboks to what many thought was mission impossible as they lifted the Webb Ellis Cup in South Africa, and in 77 days the country will be hosting a second global event when the Rugby Sevens World Cup kicks off. Departs in Cape Town.

From September 9-11, the top 40 women’s rugby and rugby teams will be in the Mother City as they try to claim silvers that are played only once every four years.

On this day: The Boks won their first World Cup title

New Zealand will defend the men’s and women’s titles they won in San Francisco in 2018, and they will be joined by the Blitzboks and Springbok Women’s Sevens, as well as another 22 men’s and 14 women’s teams.

Pinar, who lives in Cape Town, said he was excited by the prospect of a crowded stadium watching some of the best athletes in action.

“It’s the first Rugby World Cup we’ve hosted since 1995 and I can’t wait to support the Blitzboks and Springbok Women’s Sevens in Cape Town in September,” Pinar said.

“The Rugby Sevens World Cup will be a momentous occasion when the eyes of the rugby world turn to South Africa.

“I would like to wish all the teams – especially our green and gold team – all the best for the tournament, when we once again show the world what a wonderful country we live in, and what can be achieved when we stand together as South Africans.”

The top eight men’s teams and the top four women’s teams from the highly successful RWC Sevens 2018 tournament in San Francisco, USA, have already secured automatic qualification for the tournament in 2022, along with the Springbok Women’s Sevens, as the host.

The qualifying teams for the men’s tournament are defending champions New Zealand, England, Blitzbox, Fiji, Argentina, USA, France and Scotland. Among the women’s teams, South Africa will be joined by defending champions New Zealand, France, Australia and the USA in Cape Town.

MORE: Cobus Visagie’s Perfect XV

Aside from the pre-qualified teams, other African teams that qualified include Madagascar (women), Uganda, Zimbabwe and Kenya (men), Canadian men’s and women’s teams, as well as men’s teams from Australia, Samoa, Tonga and Jamaica. Hong Kong, South Korea, Uruguay, Chile and women’s teams from Fiji, Japan, China, Brazil and Colombia.

Opening Day (Friday, September 9) tickets – as well as very limited tickets for the other two days – are still available from Ticketmaster, while information on suites and hospitality packages is available via email at [email protected].

Photo: Chris Lee – World Rugby via Getty Images / World Rugby via Getty Images

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: