Heart and Hustle Award nominees for 2022

The Alumni League of Baseball Players Association (MLBPAA) is pleased to announce the first 30 winners of the 2022 Heart and Hustle Award. This prestigious award is given to active players who demonstrate a passion for baseball and best embody the values, spirit and traditions of the game. The Heart and Hustle Award is also the only award in Major League Baseball that past players vote on. Voting takes place before the All-Star break.
The MLBPAA has formed 30 committees, made up of alumni players who have established relationships with each team. One player from each league team is selected by committees based on their passion, desire and work ethic they demonstrate both on and off the field. As the season draws to a close, all graduates and active players will vote to choose the ultimate winner from among the team’s 30 winners. Previous winners have been David Eckstein (2005), Craig Biggio (2006, 2007), Grady Sizemore (2008), Albert Pujols (2009), Roy Halladay (2010), Torii Hunter (2011), Mike Trout (2012), Dustin Pedroia ( 2013), Josh Harrison (2014), Anthony Rizzo (2015), Todd Frazier (2016), Brett Gardner (2017), Mookie Betts (2018), Howie Kendrick (2019), Ozzie Albies (2021) ). No award was given in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
The overall winner will be announced in mid-November on MLB Network.
Baltimore Orioles: Austin Hayes
Boston Red Sox: Raphael Devers
Chicago White Sox: Jose Abreu
Cleveland Guardians: Jose Ramirez
Detroit Tigers: Eric Haas
Houston Astros: Jose Altove
Kansas City Royals: Bobby White, Jr
Los Angeles Angels: Jared Walsh
Minnesota Twins: Luis Ariz
New York Yankees: Jose Trevino
Auckland Athletics: Chad Bender
Seattle Mariners: Eugenio Suarez
Tampa Bay Rays: Manuel Margo
Texas Rangers: Adulis Garcia
Toronto Blue Jays: Matt Chapman
Arizona Diamondbacks: Dalton Farshaw
Atlanta Braves: Dansby Swanson
Chicago Cubs: Wilson Contreras
Cincinnati Reds: Kyle Farmer
Colorado Rockies: Connor Joe
Los Angeles Dodgers: Tria Turner
Miami Marlins: John Bertie
Milwaukee Brewers: Jess Peterson
New York Mets: Brandon Nemo
Philadelphia Phillies: Rhys Hoskins
Pittsburgh Pirates: Brian Reynolds
San Diego Padres: Jake Kronworth
San Francisco Giants: Wilmer Flores
St. Louis Cardinals: Paul Goldschmidt
Citizens of Washington: Josh Bell*
*Josh Bell remains the nominee for the Washington Nationals despite receiving a different team after the committee vote was completed.
To learn more about the MLBPAA, please visit www.baseballalumni.com and follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (MLBPAA). The official hashtag for this award is #HeartandHustle.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: