Statement: The Oilers Hall of Fame has been established

Edmonton, AB – After five decades in business, the hockey club today announced the proud creation of the much-anticipated Edmonton Oilers Hall of Fame.

The Edmonton Oilers Hall of Fame has been established to honor outstanding contributions or service to the Edmonton Oilers Hockey Club by past members of the organization, and may include players, coaches, coaches, employees, executives, or anyone else who has had a role or service in the organization since its inception in 1972 is recognized as exceptional.

The inaugural 2022 Oilers Hall of Fame will feature Oilers Legends, Hamilton, Wayne Gretzky, Gary Curry, Grant Four, Paul Covey, Mark Messier, Glenn Anderson, Kevin Lowe, Glenn Suther and Rod Phillips, all of whom have been inducted. Automatically in honor of their oilers’ banner.

In addition to this year’s 10 Volunteers, the Class of 2022 will include two applicants as voted by the Oilers Hall of Fame selection committee. These two additional recruits will be announced on Tuesday, September 20th prior to the start of Oilers Training Camp.

Video: Kevin Lowe raises the flag

The Oilers Hall of Fame selection committee consists of 11 individuals who have been appointed based on their extensive and diverse experience in hockey and the community. Each is appointed for an initial term of three years and can serve for a maximum of 15 years.

Each member of the Committee may submit one name annually as their official nomination for consideration. A maximum of three nominees will be elected annually to the Oilers Hall of Fame, each requiring at least a 75% affirmative vote.

The Oilers Hall of Fame selection committee consists of Oilers Wayne Gretzky, Ron Law, Louie Debrosek and Chris Joseph as well as former player and CEO Bruce McGregor, as well as media members Jim Matheson (2000 Elmer Ferguson Award winner), Terry Jones (2000 Elmer Ferguson Award winner) 2011), Bob Stover and Jason Gregor, as well as Community Chair Wilton Littlechild (international president and former U of A Golden Bear) and two-time Olympic gold medalist for Team Canada Shannon Sappados.

Honored members of the Edmonton Oilers Hall of Fame will see their names permanently displayed on the ring above the PCL Loge level at Rogers Place. A pre-game inaugural ceremony is scheduled for Thursday, November 3, when the Oilers host the New Jersey Devils.

In future seasons, the Oilers Hall of Fame induction ceremony will coincide with the Homecoming initiative that features former members of the organization returning to Edmonton to celebrate the team’s rich history while participating in fan events and charitable endeavours.

Fans will also be able to be inducted into the Oilers Hall of Fame in the future. Beginning in the Class of 2023, Oilers fans will be given the opportunity to nominate individuals for later consideration by members of the selection committee. Full details about the fan nomination process will be announced at a later time.

Former Oilers players are eligible for nomination to the Oilers Hall of Fame after retiring from playing for five years. Non-players may nominate at any time. In the future, the Oilers banners hoisted at Rogers Place will be generally reserved to recognize Oilers alumni inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: