Virginia Elena Carta in KPMG Women’s Irish

Virginia Elena Carta is in the premier field for the KPMG Women’s Irish Open, the women’s European Championship scheduled for September 22-25 at Dromoland Castle Golf Club in Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland.

Blue, in a good moment of form, have made three of the top 15 in the last six games with the eighth (Big Green Egg Open) their best result of 2022.

Virginia Elena Carta, schedule

Among the event’s favorites are some seasonal winners, starting with the Swedish Linn Scholarship, number one en route to the Costa del Sol (Order of Merit) and four successes of the year, continuing with France’s Anne-Charlotte Mora, Finland’s Tia Koivisto, Belgian Manon de Roy, Spain’s Anna Belaz Trevino, English Megan McLaren and Liz Young and with Czech Jana Milicova.

Among the other potential champions we remember Scotland’s Catriona Matthew, captain of Team Europe in the last two Solheim Cup wins, Ireland’s Leona Maguire, England’s Gabriella Cowley, Argentina’s Magdalena Semmermacher, South African Nicole Garcia, Dutch Anne Van Dam. Czech Clara Spilkova, Slovenian Pia Babnik, Indian Tvsa Malik and Diksha Dagar.

The prize pool is 400,000 euros. Women’s golf in Europe was depopulated only some time after the creation of the LPGA in the USA. In 1978, the Professional Golfers’ Association (or simply WPGA), which forms the largest professional golfers’ association in the United Kingdom, was founded.

The following year, a tour was organized with Carlsberg as the main sponsor and included 12 tournaments (36 holes), including the British Women’s Open. In the first two seasons, round fields were rated at 36 shots, then increased to 54; The prize pool also increased, from £80,000 to £250,000 in 1981, at the cost of losing important tournaments and sponsorships.

At the end of the 1981 season the collaboration with Carlsberg ended and, despite initial optimism, the Women’s European Tour went through a period of crisis culminating in the cancellation of other stages. In the second half of the 1980s, the ring found itself with only 10 championships remaining and its future was in question.

To overcome the crisis and its now weak appearance, key members of management decided in 1988 to create an independent body, the European Limited Tour for Professional Golfers: the new entity then changed its headquarters, moving from The Belfry (shared with the PGA) at Tytherington Club in Cheshire.

In 1998 the tour took the name European Ladies’ Professional Golf Association Limited and then Ladies European Tour Limited in July 2000. In 2008, the member changed headquarters again, this time settling in Buckinghamshire Golf Club, near London. In 2010, the Tour announced the creation of the LET Access Series (LETAS), its official development department.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: