The European Tour begins a new season on two continents


European Tour and the PGA Tour of Australia

FORTINET Australian PGA Championship

Location: Brisbane, Australia.

Of course: Royal Queensland GC. Yardage: 7,134. Nominal: 71.

Center prize: 2 million Australian dollars. The share of the winner: 333333 m.

TV: Wed-Sat, 9:30pm-1am (Golf Channel).

Defending champion: Jedi Morgan.

DP World Tour Winner: Rory McIlroy.

Last week: John Rahm won the DP World Championship.

Notes: British Open champion Cameron Smith returns to the Australian PGA for the first time since 2019 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. … The Championship has been sanctioned by the European Tour and starts a new season four days after the last season ended. … Smith is among six players to take part in the Saudi-funded LIV Golf event this year. Others are Mark Lishman, Wade Ormsby and defending champion Jed Morgan. … Past champions in this field include Robert Allenby and Jeff Ogilvy. … plays Ryan Fox, who had a chance to win the DP World points list last season. The fox is number 27 in the world. He finished last year at No. 213. … Adam Scott won the Australian PGA Championship for the second time in 2019. … Other former champions in the field include Geoff Ogilvy and Robert Allenby. … The championship dates back to 1928. The first non-Australian winner was Gary Player in 1957.

Next week: ISPS Handa Australian Open.

Online: and

European Tour and Sun Tour

Location: Johannesburg, South Africa.

Course: Houghton GC. Yardage: 7,153. Nominal: 71.

Position prize: 17.5 million rand. Winner’s share: R2.916 million.

TV: Thurs-Fri, 5-10am (Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday, 5-9:30 a.m. (Golf Channel).

Defending Champion: Theriston Lawrence.

DP World Tour Winner: Rory McIlroy.

Last week: John Rahm won the DP World Championship.

Notes: The tournament is jointly approved by the European Tour and is the start of a two-week run in South Africa. … The course features Christian Bezuidenhout among South Africa’s finest golfers. At 74, he ranks third in South Africa behind Louis Oosthuizen and Dean Burmester. … LIV Golfers in the field include Sean Norris and Henny Duplessis. … The Joburg Open has been sanctioned by the European Tour since it began in 2007. … Nine of the 14 winners of the Joburg Open have been from South Africa. Former Masters champion Charl Schwartzl is a two-time winner. He’s not in the field this week. … Last year’s tournament was shortened to 54 holes due to travel restrictions, and then to 36 holes due to weather. … Thriston Lawrence won the first of two European Tour events last season at the Joburg Open.

Next week: Investec South African Open.

Online: and

Last week: Adam Svensson won the RSM Classic.

Next tournament: Hero World Challenge December 1-4.

FedEx Cup Leader: Seamus Power.


Last week: Lydia Ko won the CME Group Tour Championship.

Next tournament: Hilton Grand Vacations Tournament of Champions January 19-22.

The Race for CME Globe Winner: Lydia Ko.


Women’s European Tour: Andalucia Costa Del Sol Open De Espana, Alferini GC, Benahavis, Spain. Defending champion: Carlota Ciganda. TV: Thurs-Fri, 10-11:30 a.m. (Golf Channel); Sat, 9:30-11:30 a.m. (Golf Channel); Sunday, 12:30-3:30 p.m. (Golf Channel – tape delay). Online:

Japan Golf Tour: Casio World Open, Kochi Kuroshio CC, Kochi, Japan. Title holder: Mikumu Horikawa. Online:

Japan LPGA: JLPGA Tour Championship Ricoh Cup, Miyazaki CC, Miyazaki, Japan. Defending Champion: Kana Mikashima. Online:

Asian Tour: Bangabandhu Cup Golf Bangladesh Open, Kurmitola JC, Dhaka, Bangladesh. Defending Champion: Online:

AP Golf: and

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: