San Jose Sharks news: Rudolfs has been claimed by the Tampa Bay Lightning

Listen, I knew the chances were slim, but when I saw Rudolph’s cherry hit the waiver wire on Friday, part of me hoped San Jose Sharks general manager Mike Grier would claim the 25-year-old and send him back to the club. Drafted him for the third round. It wasn’t likely at all, but wasn’t it funny?

In July, Grier purchased the final of the two-year, $1.55 million, AAV contract extension that Balcers signed former Sharks GM Doug Wilson in July 2021. Originally drafted by San Jose in the fifth round (142nd overall) of the 2015 NHL Draft, Balcers was part of the trade package used to acquire defenseman Erik Karlsson from the Ottawa Senators in September 2018.

In 2021, Ottawa waived the winger and San Jose cut him from the wire to get the Balcers back in the Bay. Although he played one season with the San Jose Barracudas prior to the trade, he did not make his debut with the Sharks until 2021. He played 102 games with the Sharks over the next two seasons, scoring 19 goals and 21 assists.

After being purchased by Grier, Balcers signed a one-year, $750,000 contract with the Florida Panthers. At least he’ll have a relatively short action, as the Tampa Bay Lightning picked him up on Saturday.

Balcers scored 2 goals and 2 assists in 14 games with the Panthers.

News and notes

  • Jabber Jaws: Cowen, “We’ve been a little weak from the last two weeks.” [Fear The Fin]
  • Are Rope-a-Dope Sharks Stars? [San Jose Hockey Now]
  • 2022-23 Red Wings Trade Targets: San Jose Sharks [The Hockey Writers]

  • The Wild Face Sharks are looking to build on recent success [KRON4]
  • Sharks’ Meier resumes his scoring ways, but he also excels in another area [Mercury News]
  • NHL Power Rankings: 1-32 poll, point pace vs. predictions [ESPN]

blood in the water

  • The Tampa Bay Lightning reportedly claim Rudolph Balsers off waivers from the Florida Panthers [Raw Charge]
  • Pacific Division Weekly: Daryl Sutter Calls the ‘Fire Bulls’ [Fear The Fin]
  • The Devils get their money’s worth from Dougie Hamilton [All About The Jersey]
  • “Embarrassed” Claude Giroud puts in a solid performance against Philadelphia [Broad Street Hockey]
  • Brian Rust gets the first major tackle of his professional hockey career [Pensburgh]
  • John Heinz handling problem for Cody Glass [On The Forecheck]
  • Maple Leafs honors Porgy Salming [Pension Plan Puppets]
  • NHL suspends Aube-Kubel 3 games at Capitals for illegal check [Yahoo! Sports]
  • Shane Powers of Nova Scotia makes his NHL debut with the Colorado Avalanche [Saltwire]
  • Early-season NHL reactions: Johnny Goudreau should have stayed in Calgary, Devils bound for playoffs [CBS Sports]

Recap and scores

  • Ottawa Senators 4, Philadelphia Flyers 1

  • Edmonton Oilers 4, Florida Panthers 2

  • Arizona Coyotes 2, New Jersey Devils 4

  • Boston Bruins 3, Buffalo Sabers 1

  • Pittsburgh Penguins 4, Montreal Canadiens 5 (OT)

  • Vancouver Canucks 2 Toronto Maple Leafs 3

  • Columbus Blue Jackets 3, New York Islanders 4 (OT)

  • New York Rangers 1, Nashville Predators 2

  • Carolina Hurricane 1, Colorado Avalanche 4

  • Chicago Blackhawks 3, Anaheim Ducks 2

  • St. Louis Blues 3, Vegas Golden Knights 2

  • Winnipeg Jets 2, Calgary Flames 3

  • Detroit Red Wings 3, Los Angeles Kings 4

Click on the team name to find a recap on their SB Nation website!

on the table

  • Dallas Stars at Philadelphia Flyers, 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET on NHLN, SN, NBCSP, and BSSW

  • San Jose Sharks at Minnesota Wild, 3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET on BSN, BSWI, NBCSCA, and ESPN+

  • Vancouver Canucks at Boston Bruins, 3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET on TVAS, SN, NESN, and ESPN+

  • Arizona Coyotes at New York Rangers, 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET on MSG, BSAZ, ESPN+

  • Washington Capitals at Tampa Bay Lightning, 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET on ESPN

  • Winnipeg Jets at Seattle Kraken, 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET on ROOT-NW, TSN3, and ESPN+

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: